Each year, since 1982, the J.L. Turner Legal Association Foundation has awarded scholarships to minority law students that are from the Dallas-Fort Worth Metroplex, or attending law school in the Dallas-Fort Worth Metroplex. Funds raised from the Annual Scholarship and Awards Banquet are used to fund the scholarships.

There are two distinct types of JLTLA Minority Law Student Scholarships: those awarded primarily on the basis of merit, and those based primarily on financial need.

I.    Financial Need Minority Scholarships:
Although JLTLAF encourages academic excellence, the need-based scholarships focus on financial need and are not primarily academic scholarships. In selecting financial-need scholarship winners, we will consider an applicant’s need, disadvantaged circumstances, community involvement, and other factors, in addition to merely academic standing.

II.   Merit-Based Minority Scholarships:
There are four (4) JLTLAF merit-based Scholarships that may be awarded in a given year. These are primarily academic scholarship awards. The Merit Scholarships are as follows:

  • The Barbara Jordan Scholarship – awarded to the most outstanding female minority law student.
  • The Fred Finch Scholarship – awarded to the most outstanding male minority law student.
  • The Marie Trahan/Susman Godfrey Scholarship –  awarded to an outstanding African-American male or female law student that is from (born in or raised in) the state of Texas.
  • The Phyllis Lister-Brown Memorial Scholarship (formerly The Judges Scholarship)  – awarded to either a male or female minority law student who has excelled academically.

To be eligible for JLTLAF Minority Law Student Scholarships, you must:
A) be a United States Citizen or Permanent Legal Resident;
B) be currently enrolled in an ABA accredited law school in the United States;
C) be in good academic standing at the law school (proof of academic standing is required); and
D) be either:
1) a second or third year minority law student that is from the DFW Metroplex; OR
2) a second or third year minority law student that attends law school in the DFW Metroplex.

All application materials must be received by September 17, 2018.  Winners will be notified by early October 2018 and are expected to attend the Gala and accept the award in person. Funds will be dispersed after winners provide Fall 2018 grades, Spring 2019 class schedule and their current mailing address to the Scholarship Committee, essentially in January-February 2019.

If you are eligible, and are interested in applying for a need-based scholarship, a merit-based scholarship, or both, download the scholarship application that is posted below. Please note that only one scholarship will be awarded per applicant.


2018 Law Student Scholarship Application

2018 Scholarship Letter to Schools


For questions, please contact the Scholarship Committee.

Diana Bandoh

2018 Scholarship Committee Co-Chair

(972) 368-2473


Jade Mens

2018  Scholarship Committee Co-Chair

(817) 380-8451